top of page

Our Mission & Vision

Virginians for High Speed Rail is a 501 (C) (3) not-for-profit coalition of citizens, businesses, localities, community organizations, and economic development agencies that educate for the need for the expansion of fast, frequent, and reliable rail service connecting our communities to destinations along the eastern seaboard to increase the economic potential of the Commonwealth. We were founded in 1994 as a partnership between the RVA Chamber and the Future of Hampton Roads.

Our mission is to educate and advocate for the expansion of fast, frequent, and reliable passenger rail service connecting Virginia to destinations up and down the east coast.

We want to triple the number of Amtrak Regional trains serving Virginia; reduce their travel times by up-to 35 percent; increase their on-time reliability to over 90 percent; and reach over 80 percent of Virginians.


Executive Committee

President: Barry C. Bishop; Ret. Greater Norfolk Corporation
Vice-President: David Wilkins, Colliers International
Treasurer: Michael L. Testerman; NARP
Secretary: Jason Williams, RK&K
Past-President: Jack Tuttle, Williamsburg, Virginia*
Jay Corbalis, JBG Smith
Cliff Dunn; Modern Machine & Tool Company
Rafi Guroian, Apple Inc.
Hon. Meredith Richards, Virginia Rail Policy Institute*

Hon. William J. Pantele; Pantele Law*
Trip Pollard; Southern Environmental Law Center


Board of Directors
Willie Bates, ret. Amtrak, SMART local 1933 
Hon. Whittington W. Clement, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP

Josée G. Covington; Covington Travel *
Tim Davey, Timmons Group
Sean Driscoll, Towne Investment Group
Jake Edens, Co-Star
Robbyn Gayer; UBS Inc*
Oscar Gonzalez, WSP
Elliott Harrigan; Harrigan & Company
Henry “Sandy” Harris; Palladium Investment Advisors
Corey Hill, Kimley-Horn; fmr. FRA executive director
Steven Morrison, Siemens Mobility
Lorna Parkins, Michael Baker International
Hon. Caleb Rogers, City of Williamsburg
James E. Taylor; Fortna
Thomas G. Tingle, AIA; Guernsey Tingle Architects*
Robert “Litt” Thompson; Virginia Land Investments
Daniel Weekley, Dominion Energy

Emeritus Directors
Richard L. Beadles; VHSR Founder*
Brad Face; Face International*
Hon. Wiley F. Mitchell Jr., Esq.; Fmr. State Senator
James E. Ukrop; New Richmond Ventures*

Advisory Council
Gerard R. Deily, P.E.; Ret. Federal Railroad Admin.
Hon. Sandra L. Duckworth; Fredericksburg, Virginia
Tom Frantz; Williams Mullen
James Michel, Marsh Companies
Richard Sliwoski, Virginia Commonwealth University
Jennie Welliver, City of Richmond
Garland Williams, City of Charlottesville



Danny Plaugher, Executive Director

Diana Hall, Programs and Communications Coordinator

Kelly Eichfeld, Administrative Coordinator


*denotes a former VHSR President/Board Chair

bottom of page